Skillet Macaroni & Cheese

IMG_5692

I love macaroni and cheese so much and I am very happy to see that my little Maddy girl also loves it! (That might be because I ate so very much of it while I was pregnant — it was my go-to pregnancy craving!) I will gladly admit that although I love to cook, Kraft is still my top favorite when it comes to this classic gourmet meal…but, I do like to make my own homemade version on occasion.

When it comes to homemade, I really like the Betty Crocker recipe, but I was feeling adventurous a while ago and decided to make a recipe I saw online. It was really tasty and is going to go into the recipe book without a question! If you are looking for an alternate way to make this dish, this is it!

(I found the original recipe on this blog, and then adapted it to fit what my family would love.)

Ingredients

  • 3 1/2 cups water, plus extra if needed
  • 1 (12-ounce) can evaporated milk
  • 12 ounces (about 3 cups) elbow macaroni
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 6 ounces Cheddar cheese, shredded (1 1/2 cups)
  • 6 ounces Colby-Jack cheese, shredded (1 1/2 cups)
  • 2 tablespoons butter, cut into small chunks
  • Ground black pepper to taste

Directions

  • Bring 3 1/2 cups water, 1 cup of the evaporated milk, the macaroni, and 1/2 teaspoon salt to a simmer in a 12-inch nonstick skillet over high heat. Cook at a vigorous simmer, stirring often, until the macaroni is tender and the liquid has thickened (about 9 to 12 minutes).
  • Whisk the remaining 1/2 cup evaporated milk and the cornstarch together in a small bowl. Stir that mixture into the skillet. Continue to simmer until slightly thickened (about 1 minute).
  • Remove the skillet from the heat and stir in the cheeses, one handful at a time, adding water as needed to adjust the consistency of the sauce (I didn’t need any additional water when I made it). Stir in the butter and season with salt and pepper to taste. Serve immediately.

Simple Tips:

  • You can really use any cheese that you want to. I really like Colby cheese so instead of using Monterey-Jack like I saw on the original recipe, I decided to try the Colby-Jack instead. You can use whatever works for you!
  • This recipe makes a large dish, so if you don’t want leftovers and you have a small family, you could consider making less! However, it is good leftover!

IMG_5689

IMG_5691

This macaroni was so creamy! My little taste-tester also approved…

IMG_5699

(I could not get her to stop eating it and smile :))

I promise that my lack of consistent posting lately is not because I am lazy — I have been working on a few different projects and am trying to get them all together so I can share with you what I have been up to lately! On top of that, I have been doing some business organizing for my husband and a friend which is keeping me on my toes!

I hope you are enjoying these warm, summer days — fall will be here all too soon!

Leave a Reply

